David B. Hoyt, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Scientific Co-Founder of Leading BioSciences
Clinical Steering Committee Member
Scientific Advisory Board Member

Dr. Hoyt is a nationally renowned trauma surgeon who has served as Executive Director of American College of Surgeons, since 2010. He has also achieved the Fellow American of Surgeons (FACS) designation. He has held distinguished roles with the University of California, Irvine (UCI) Medical Center, including Chairman of Department of Surgery; Executive Vice Dean of the School of Medicine and the John E. Connolly Professor of Surgery.

Prior to UCI, Dr. Hoyt was The Monroe E. Trout Professor of Surgery and Vice Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the University of California (UC), San Diego; he was also on the staff at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in San Diego and at Thornton Hospital in La Jolla, CA. Dr. Hoyt has been President of the Pan American Trauma Society, the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, the Shock Society and the San Diego Society of General Surgeons. Dr. Hoyt holds membership on the editorial boards of the World Journal of Emergency Surgery, Surgery, Journal of the American College of Surgeons, Journal of Trauma, Shock, and Open Access Emergency Medicine.

Dr. Hoyt obtained his medical degree from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH, in 1976. He was intern (1976-1977), resident (1977-1979), research fellow (1979-1980), and senior and chief resident (1982-1984) at the UC San Diego School of Medicine. He served as director of the division of trauma, burns, and critical care at the UC San Diego Medical Center from 1989 to 2006. Dr. Hoyt also served as Assistant Professor of Surgery (1984-1989), Associate Professor of Surgery (1989-1995), and Professor of Surgery (1995-2006) at UC San Diego School of Medicine.

Dr. Hoyt’s research interests and past research experience have involved basic and clinical work in a variety of important areas related to trauma patients and trauma care systems, including cytokine regulation, the isolation of trauma active peptides, trauma registries, crash investigation, and long terms outcome research. He has been awarded several research grants from the National Institutes of Health as the principal or co-investigator for trauma-related research throughout his career and has been the author or co-author of more than 480 publications.